Sign in to follow this  
Jarrod

Best cleaner for fabris awnings

I have searched the forums for a clear choice for a fabric awning cleaner & I can't seem to find one. The awnings I'm doing are very dirty, & loaded with bird poop. They are made out of canvas or some kind of fabric. What is the best cleaner for this job? Thank you in advance.

I clean a Sweet Tomatoes restuarunat annually, and I clean them with my regular house wash solution (bleach and Emulsifer Plus) and they look great everytime. I've heard people say that bleach can weaken the stitching and what not, but I've been cleaning these this way for a couple of years without any problems.

I prefer winsol products. I have cleaned upteen awnings with them. I like a few of the starbrite poducts such as "black streak remover". Bleach is never good for an awning unless you want them to degrade & die in a couple of years. Go to the Winsol website for guidance on application & sealing. Typically canvas awnings are harder to clean than the vinyl. I did have a few photos on this site a couple of years a go (before & after). I think they have vanished with the website being updated a few times.

Try & pick off the bird poo before starting, as wetting it leads to more problems. I never use a pressure washer, just a soft brush and water fed pole cleaning equipment. Pressure washers will stretch the fabric and will lead to unslightly bulges in the fabric.

I think Tony is saying he cleaned them with a pressure washer.

Its o.k. if you reduce the pressure washer down to a level where it is not damaging the awning. As I stated, eventually the pressure will make the awning sag over time. These relatively small awnings are stretched quite close together so the effect is not noticeable. Try doing a 6 metre stretch of awning with a high pressure washer & see it go!

Most manufacturers recommend never to use pressure washers on them, just a pressure similar to what comes out of the faucet.