Sign in to follow this  
JamesHayhurst

Sales Tax

In NY you have to charge sales tax for a service rendered. I don't know why my work can't fall into the Home improvement catagory where it would not be taxable but that is the law of the land here. At 8.75% sales its not cheap.

I live in Texas where the sales tax is 8.25%.

I just had my pressure washer serviced and I noticed that they not only charged me tax for the parts but also taxed the labor. I was wondering If anyone else did the same.

This is my first year in business (i'm only 18) and I've yet to file taxes. I was wondering if anyone would be kind enough to explain to how to file taxes as a self-employed person.

Thank you,

James

I live in Texas where the sales tax is 8.25%.

I just had my pressure washer serviced and I noticed that they not only charged me tax for the parts but also taxed the labor. I was wondering If anyone else did the same.

This is my first year in business (i'm only 18) and I've yet to file taxes. I was wondering if anyone would be kind enough to explain to how to file taxes as a self-employed person.

James

Taxes are basically two parts: income and deductions.

You claim every penny you earn from performing your service as income.

You deduct every cost of doing that business as a deduction.

You pay taxes on the difference of those two values.