Sign in to follow this  
misskriss

House washing

Question

I posted almost the same question in another section, but here goes. When you are cleaning a house or mobile home should you use hot or cold water? Also, I have heard you can use truck and trailer "soap" for home and mobile home siding is this true? And if the siding is painted aluminum will the truck wash hurt the paint? Also, should you use a certain pressure setting or is there no such thing? I am brand new to this, so you'll have to excuse me if I seem to ask some silly questions. Anyway, thanks for the help!

28 answers to this question

I prefer hot water but you can still do a good job without it.

I don't like to use the truck wash but it will work and there are folks who use it successfuly. I would use just industrial grade 15% bleach and a good soap of some kind mixed together and then applied to the house through either down stream or up stream injection. Be careful with aluminum siding, espiacaly the older it is. It will damage very easily and for that reason I myself prefer not to do aluminum siding unless things get slow. Hope this will help. There really isn't a pressure control other than the tip you use. The smaller the hole, the more the pressure but it will only go as high as your pump is capable of.

By the time the bleach reaches the plants it so diluted it won't hurt them, but always prewet all plants and rinse afterwards just to be safe. Be really careful around rose bushes, they are very sensative and will die very easily. I use soak the ground around them til the soil can't take any more then cover them with plastic.

You can use just dishwashing soap and be fine but on really dirty house I would use a much better soap, an emulsifier of some kind.

misskriss,