Sign in to follow this  
M Pearlstein

A few questions!

Question

I am new to wood restoration and hope some of you might be able to answer some questions. I have done extensive reading - thanks to all for posting it is really helpful - to try an avoid the basic questions. If I missed any or if there is more info out there that you think would be useful to me than please email or post a link.

THE SCENARIO:

Instead of making a practice run on my first customers deck I decided to use my brain and get creative. I went poking around a few homes where I saw backyard construction going on and low and behold at the 3rd house I found an elevated deck that had just been torn down since the homeowner is replacing it with a ground level paver patio. The contractor had no problems at all with my taking as many of the floor boards as I wanted. Problem number one solved I now had an old deck that I could work on without worrying about initial mistakes.

Next, I plan on using higher end chems since my customer base is very high end - the PW division is an add on to an existing business - but did not have time to get them and was anxious to get started. So I stopped by a local paint store and picked up some Wolmans Stipper, Cabots brightener and a few Cabot stains. I also did not haul my PW trailer to the house so I pulled out a home machine I have had for years figuring that for sure would minimize the chance of using too much pressure. And finally, I used hand spray bottles - like the kind you find inthe grocery store - to apply the chems since I am still not 100% sure if I am using pump up sprayers and if so if I should go with the backpack style. This is what I am leaning towards but chime in here if you have suggestions.

QUESTIONS:

Sorry for the intorductory ramble but I felt it was important to set the stage.

1. Can you apply too much stripper?

-if so what happens?