Sign in to follow this  
Jeff

how to restain decks ???

Question

congrats on new bb beth looks nice

question for all. I'll be pwashing a expensive home soon. They have multi level decks and front porch & stairs. Home owners mentioned they may be restaining decks soon. I have very little knowledge in wood cleaning and staining. The decks are huge on a stilt home. rough guess is 1500- 2000 sqft of deck not including railings.Deck is in good shape stain is peeling a little bit. the wood looks like pine from underneath the stain is cedar color .I think it may be semi solid stain and it looks like it popped off in trafic areas instead of just worn off also worn alittle..Also in very small areas it looks like it may be turning gray were its thin. If homeowner uses same product as whats on it can I just restain it. and how should I prep it wash it. I'd like to get this restainjob this house is beautiful. it would look great in photo album

what do you charge for restaining sq ft not including materials,should i brush and roll spray or what I dont have spray rig could rent I'm a little wary of overspray house is on ocean marsh and is windy at times:confused:

14 answers to this question

Jeff,

Is it a glossy looking stain or a dull looking stain? Any way you can find out about it?

HD-80 will strip just about anything off, but if they have painted it, it takes some but not all paints off. If they have a deck stain on there, you're safe with HD-80 and Citralic to brighten.

You can apply with a pump up sprayer, and use a spray shield to break the wind flow.

Sure hope this helps. Also, I have heard ong the street that stripping charges run anywhere from 1.20 per sq. ft. to 2.40 depending on what you're stripping. Some things take longer than others, the dwell time can vary, and time is money.

Beth

Pretty sure its latex semi solid stain .I don't want to strip it for the most part stain is in good shape.I want to know if I can just recoat decksTHANKS