Sign in to follow this  
Coop

starting business, is this a good unit?

http://www.northerntool.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?storeId=6970&productId=200241574&R=200241574

I am new to this. Like most people starting out all I have used is the smaller pressure washers that do an OK job on concrete, but mostly used them on the cars. I am wanting to be able to do just about anything, residential, commercial, fleet. I will be getting a hot water unit eventually, but I am looking at this cold water unit right now.

comes from Northern Tool. Has a 2 year warranty, seems pretty good.

-Any thoughts?

-Anywhere I can get it cheaper?

-Better one out there for the price?

-Will I have good reliablitly with this unit?

Get a belt driven unit like this one.

http://www.northerntool.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?storeId=6970&productId=523786&R=523786&issearch=157822

It will last much longer. Direct drives wear out much faster because the pump is operating at the same RPM's as the engine and it is also prone to vibration. I was in your shoes a few weeks ago, and my start up budget was tight. I decided not to purchase a few things until I was profitable so I could afford a belt driven unit instead of the $1000 direct drive unit I was looking at. The more I read these posts and other peoples opinions I'm glad I did. My .02 cents.

I agree belt dirves are a far better buy for the extra money, but I've been using a direct drive for 2 years now and have had no problems with pump, and I run the heck out it.

hmmmm, so we are 50/50 on this one now. I would really rather get the cheaper unit at this time, as I could always upgrade down the road when I start making money. Plus, I figure I would be upgrading within 2 years, and it has a 2 year warranty on it, which I hope would cover the pump, granted I know I would have down time if it broke, but the one with the belt could break for some reason too.