Sign in to follow this  
yazbird8

Business write-offs, or not

I am new to the business and understand that you cannot write-off anything(equipment, supplies, stationary etc) that you buy before doing your first job. I am a sole proprietor and have heard that I am not " official" until the first customer's check is cashed.

If this is true then should I hold off buying all my equipment until that first check is cashed?

I have access to my cousins pw equipment and I will be washing some friends homes, deck, driveway and fencing..... They will pay me by check.

Should I just wait to buy? That is a big chunk of change to not be able to write-off.............Thanks in advance

Steve

Stephen Andrews

Power Washing

Home and Property

Care and Maintainence

I would write off anything you purchased during that year that is directly applicable towards your business. You just can't write it off before you've used it to make new income.

For example, if you buy $10,000 worth of equipment in December 2005 and don't use it until January 2006 to make your first dollar, you can't write the equipment off of last year's expenses because it wasn't an expense for your 2005 revenue. Granted, I *did* do this, but I doubt it was 100% correct. If you couldn't write off equipment you purhased before you ever made the money, how could you purchase it to begin with? Equipment is an investment for your future earnings.

I'm not tax accountant, but I would imagine this is how it works. Not being a big proponent of the current IRS structure, I tend to interpret the tax laws as a "common sense" basis.

OK, thanks Mike. I guess that means it's time to start ordering........Now I don't have to use the cuz's ratty pw afterall. Just kidding.........I will be buying 1 or 2 cold water pw's from him as back-ups though..........Thanks again.

Steve