Sign in to follow this  
CB works

Starting part-time PW biz, need input re: training and equipment

Hello All,

First of all I would like to thank everyone for the time and energy that has gone into this board. I have really learned a lot. There is a lot of knowledge and expertise out there that I know has helped me and others like me. A little about myself: I am currently self-employed making surfboards in the Myrtle Beach, SC area. I have been doing this for myself for about three years now, and have gotten a real taste of the freedom of self-employment. However, major changes have taken place in the surf industry in the past year, and it looks like China has suddenly become a major competitor in the market (unlike before, when it was primarily a US-based industry). I figure now is a good time to get out and try something new. I did some deck washing and sealing jobs with my brother last year and really liked the work. I thought it might be something that I could do for a living. I started reading as much as I could on the subject about four months ago and realized that there’s a lot more to it than I thought (my brother and I really did those jobs the hard way!). I’m ready to make a move and start taking on some residential house-cleaning jobs to supplement my income while I really learn this business the right way. Any comments and suggestions you pros can share with me regarding my equipment choices would be a big help. Here is my wish list so far:

• Northstar 4 gpm,3500 psi, belt-driven, cold water, portable pw—will this be enough?
  • X-Jet
  • Extension pole w/brush
  • Hose and reel
  • Of course the other stuff: chemicals, buckets, ladder, etc.

Also, if anyone nearby has some used equipment they’d like to sell, I’d love to take a look at it.

I’ve read that broad form property damage coverage is recommended if I really want to be covered while working. Any comments or suggestions on this would really help.