Sign in to follow this  
jnoden

Is one employee worth it?

I currently have a very cushiony FT job but started my power washing business on the side 4 years ago to supplement my income. My day job is super flexible meaning that I can come and go as i please and I can carry comp hrs from one week to the next along with a lot of time off. I will keep this job because I like the work and the benefits are great (county job) but not quite the income I wanted. I have been working about 60-70 hrs a week with both jobs and have had a helper who has been doing good work and understands the business fairly well. I by no means have acted like a fly by night company. I have ins, a nice web site, embroidered shirts and hats, business account,business phone,brochers,flyers,professional proposal forms,yard signs,trailer signs, good equipment etc etc.

I will be speaking to an accountant about growing my business. I would like to be responsible for estimates and logistics of my company and my helper would like to become a FT employee. With the marketing I have in place for next year I am fairly confident that I can provide him with FT work. I know it is going to cost me a lot (no longer a sole proprietor) however I think that I can make atleast the same amount of profit and labor a little less. Has anyone tried anything like this or does anyone have any thoughts about this who currently has employees? Im not sure if it is worth it or not. It is a bit of a scary step although not as scary as quitting my day job (which may become an option down the road if I am succesful).