Sign in to follow this  
Gumlogguy

What's everyone using on old splintered wood docks?

Question

Hi Wood Guy's

I'm pretty new to this world of wood sealing, but was wondering what is a good coating to cover splintered docks on a fresh water lake. I have no problem with washing and making them look good, but wanted to cover the splinters. Any suggestions ? Thanks...Gumlogguy

27 answers to this question

Scott, Yep That's me... I have just been out of the wood business for 4 years, and wanted to get an update on what's been happening in the world of wood. I may go back into the business as an owner and let the guy's do the work. My life evolves around Real Estate now. I just didn't want everyone to know who I was. So I figured I'd be sneeky and sign up as a newbie, But you were smarter than me and busted me. LOL Lets keep it our little secret OK? Chris The Gumlogguy!!!

It sure is good seeing you here Chris, but I knew this would not stay hush hush for long. Biggest change since you were sealing wood, I think are your VOC laws changes which have effected coatings greatly. Heck, the rest of it, well you could show us all a thing or two I am sure. In fact...you taught the class we took in 1999. You rock man, great to see you're thinking about wood again.

:cheers:

Beth

Thanks Beth, It was great chatting with you today, I'm glad to see you & Rod are still hanging in there. Looks like you have a popular chat room site. Also looks Like I got busted right away, Scott from Syvester Ga. must have recognized me. I wasn't trying to fool anyone, I just wanted some info and not get discovered, You'd think after 4 years people would have forgotten about me.

I'll stick around for a while, I still want to learn what everyones using on old docks. Thanks Chris