Sign in to follow this  
dcoronado

Black ?Mold? on rock house????

Question

Hello to all,

My name is Daniel and I have about 4 months experience in this type of work :)

I have been shadowing a friend who has been doing this for about 12 years but would also like an opinion on what this is.

I did a rock house (lower half) with stucco to upper portion of house. Anyway, on the rock portion there was one rock that was covered with black stuff - mold I thought. I hit it with 1:1 bleach about 8 times to no avail. I am using a 5.6 GPM with hot water and 3000 PSI. I then progressed to make the bleach stronger and still to no avial. I then placed bleach straight to no avail. It did get better but after about 12 applications it is about 75% less than when I started.

I also used Zep commercial all purpose cleaner.

Here are the pics.

What else do you recommend...I would like to get it all off.

Oh by the way I left the rock with straight bleach soaking over night.

Thanks,

Daniel

post-3296-137772187709_thumb.jpg

post-3296-137772187764_thumb.jpg

17 answers to this question

could also be oil deposits in the stone itself. Had a client who bought cheap flagstone and he found out why it was cheap after it was layed around the pool.

Bit of degreaser pulled it all out.

question is why only that one stone...or are there more of it's kind?

btw, that looks like it's a piece from an entirely different batch.

... or it could be a core section from a larger stone that has ions of mineral deposit buildup. The deeper you dig the more you expose. Texas has layers of cleeche SP? before you get to any layers of solid rock.

Cool to see another lone star on the board.