Sign in to follow this  
Rob R.

Cleaning a composite deck/railing

Question

Just curious what everyone has used to clean composite decks? I have never done one before and I am going to be cleaning one asap for a good friends family as a favor. They lost a member of the family and will be gathering at the home after the funeral and have some black spots etc. they would like cleaned...I will take a quick look at the deck/railings tommorrow, also I would imagine it should be cleaned with very light pressure same as wood,, Any advise is appreciated

13 answers to this question

Best results/easiest upsell:

In five gallon bucket

1-2 gallons 12% depending on severity of mold spotting

16 oz Simple Cherry is a multi-surface cleaning product that is safe, effective and simple to use! Simple Cherry is sold in 10 lbs packages. - CHEMICALS HOUSE WASH / GUTTER / WOOD CARE / MULTI-PURPOSE

Fill with water

Brush on, rinse with garden hose

Sell based upon your technique (hand brushing/no pressure) $1-$1.50 per s.f.

All good advise. I would follow up with a mildew inhibitor to help show down from the mildew coming back so quickly.

I have been trying Chomp Pro product call Algae & Mildew Inhibitor barrier. We apply after the composite is dry to yield the customer more time between cleanings.

Jay T. from V-Seal also has a product that works as well.

Hope this helps!

Since the age of the deck is not known, a thought had occurred to me that the suggestions above could void some warranties on composite decking.

Check with the manufacturer first. I found that some companies do not allow the use of regular bleach on their material due to the potentials of damaging the material and causing color fade.

Cabot has come out with a composite deck cleaner that uses calcium hypochlorite (pool bleach) for cleaning it.

I am mentioning the warranty as a precaution for those who may be cleaning newer constructions with composites and could be liable for the process they use.

my .02