Sign in to follow this  
JeffW

Black streaks?

Question

I have been washing houses for ten years now,.....yet I am still uncertain what causes the perfectly spaced black streaks on rain gutters.Could someone enlighten me.I have seen this on gutters that are only a year old or less.I can clean them easily(as long as it's warm enough),... but would still like to know what causes them.Thanks for any and all positive responses.

33 answers to this question

As rain rushes from the roof, it carries with it soluble materials from the roofs ashpalt and bonds electrostatically to the painted surfaces on the gutters. They can be removed, but repeated removal also compromises the anodized paint on the gutters and could eventually end up with bare spots as paint comes off with each cleaning in most cases.

In short, the process is called electrostatic bonding of the ashpalt material to the gutters painted surfaces.

Butyl based cleaners can remove these streaks as well as a diluted sodium hydroxide based cleaner. But remember, it will eventually take off the paint. We recommend to our customers to only have this service done when they are about to sell the property to add curb appeal.

They ultimately have the final say of course, but educate them to the down sides as well.

Rod~

I've been thinking about a coating to put on the gutters after they are cleaned. The gutters were just put on my house about 5 months ago and already have pretty bad streaks and I intend to keep them clean but, like Rod said, I don't want my paint to be gone in the next two years after cleaning. I wonder if regular application of WD-40 will work for this too? It does everything else......