Sign in to follow this  
fireandrain

Dawn & Bleach? Fume Issues! IS this safe???

Question

Hey guys, so I went to mix up a batch of Dawn mixed with 3% bleach. Thought I read on this forum that this was a good all purpose cleaning mix. On the Dawn it says " Do NOT mix with Bleach"...so, naturally, I DID! :lgwave:

About 1o minutes later I felt like I was gonna pass out, so I masked up and got rid of the concoction.

I'm trying to get a good tip on a bleach/detergent mix that would be effective applying with my deckster and would take on mossy/moldy brickwork with an attitude. Is this Dawn/Bleach mix as bad an idea as I think?

19 answers to this question

The regular blue Dawn will give of a pretty strong smell/ odor/vapor and if you used a lot it would be worse. Apple Blossum Dawn doesnt have that problem

You can use Simple Cherry, it was designed for use with bleach

I've been sniffing Dawn n 12% for 10 yrs and i never really noticed the smell.I've also sniffed some strong substances thru the yrs. so maby i've lost a few CeLl BrAinS?? :cool:

Now when bleach and oxalic get mixed together that's about as bad it gets for fumes.

Matt,

Greg's on to something. If the Dawn had ammonia in it, which is quite possible from your description of the label, you may have created a real fun gas.

Sodium hypochlorite mixed with ammonia creates "chlorine gas". Very effective in trench warfare in France during WWI. Killed 10's of thousands of soldiers.

Think it is said that the bleach cleans or gets rid of mold by way of the chlorine gas so go figure... maybe it like that saying 'ya can't have one without the other'.

Ammonia is like a kicker or catylist and sets things off like all at once.. or something like that. If and when the dawn is mixed with percarb it can foam like nuts and cause an explosion if enclosed.....pssst , not a chemist, don't quote me.. :)

If and when the dawn is mixed with percarb it can foam like nuts and cause an explosion if enclosed....