Sign in to follow this  
JEAPAINT

Just getting started

Question

Hello!

I am a painter and looking to offer power washing to my customers. I have 2 possible jobs lined up for springtime already. I have been doing my research on pressure washers and have decided to get the Karcher #HD 4.0/36P 13 hp 4 GPM 3600psi. I have not ordered it yet and would like to know if anyone has had experiance with this unit? I will mostly be doing houses, concrete, pavers, etc...

One of my first possible jobs is cleaning alumminum siding that is oxidized. I have read about a 2 step chem application to clean alumminum siding. What are the actual chems used? Brands? where to buy? I would practise first on my house which has the same problem with alumminum siding.

Any help and info is greatly appreciated

Doug

21 answers to this question

A Cat pump is better with a General being among the better ones. The big dowside to karcher is the lack of people to serivce them, parts are expensive and thier hoses and fitting are unique to themselves. ( unless you replumb everything) It all adds up to more money without being necessary.

A Cat pump is better with a General being among the better ones. The big dowside to karcher is the lack of people to serivce them, parts are expensive and thier hoses and fitting are unique to themselves. ( unless you replumb everything) It all adds up to more money without being necessary.

A cat pump is more expensive, that't true. Whether it's better is likely something that will never be settled...

If what you're looking at is a direct drive machine, just go down to Home Depot and get one of theirs...no shipping to pay, likely cheaper, and not any less reliable than any other direct drive machine.

Or, you can spend the money for a higher gpm belt driven machine. That may get you some more life out of the pump, and will allow you to more easily set it up on a tank fed system.