Sign in to follow this  
troymclur

Olympic Stain

Question

33 answers to this question

We have had great success using the OMAX stain.

For stain that can be purchased from box store I think it holds up well.We rarely do wood anymore,but all of the decks we used the OMAX on 3 yrs ago still look good,most are due for maintenance now,but the stain has not failed.

Prep is the most important part of applying any stain.Prep it right and the stain will the job it's designed to do.

I have been using Olympic Max exclusively for about 4 years. They guarantee not to gray for 3 years - and it doesn't. Honey Gold and Cedar Naturaltone are my favorites.

I just recently stripped a 3 1/2 year old Honey Gold deck (still looked great) and resealed with Cedar. OMax strips VERY easily (downstreamed stripper) with low pressure. I apply with a backpack sprayer, brush and 6" foam roller. Almost impossible to leave a drip or lap mark.

I put a test sample of olympic max natural cedartone on a long time customers deck and she loved it. She is a 3 yr repeat customer and great for referrals. She did not like the cwf uv5 cedar[ too red] and honey gold[ too yellow] . My business model calls for a soap and water cleanup product that has a 2-3 yr turnaround on repeat customers. Most call from a referral and just say " i want my deck to look like so and so's deck". Color has never been a option with the uv sunblock cedar stock color everyone loved it. I think I have a winner with this olympic product because this customer is very pickey. Time is money and I have wasted too much time this spring letting customers decide on their color . I'm back on track to just get these decks done. I have read all the posts on ready seal and wtw but my price structure would have to go up considerably for a hand stain and mineral spirits cleanup product. Just what works for me!!!