Sign in to follow this  
Mountain View

"lab test"

Question

Ok folks, this is my first “lab test” using two panels of a fence between my neighbors house and mine. I would welcome comments about what I did right and/or wrong. Remember, I’m still new to this, try not to flame me too bad.

Specifics:

Fence is about 6 year old cedar (I think), never treated, faces east with not very much direct sunlight. Grayed with some mold and algae.

Left side was treated with percarb mixed 6oz/gal and allowed to soak for 15minutes. It was kept wet with product to stop it from drying out.

Right side was treated with 1.5% sodium hypochlorite (6% cut 1:3 w/water). It was allowed to soak for 15 minutes and kept wet with product to stop it from drying out. I haven’t been able to source 12.5% liquid product yet, hope my math is right.

Both sides were rinsed with a 3700psi/4gpm cold-water unit with a 25 degree #12 tip for five minutes. I held the tip no closer than six inches from the wood, usually 8-10 inches.

Oxalic was applied to both sides (3 oz/gallon), kept wet, let dwell for 10 minutes and rinsed the same way as above.

To say this stuff furred up is putting it mildly. Did I do something wrong? Did this happen because it’s old, untreated, and probably low-grade wood? Is sanding/defurring just something that needs to be done in this case? I’m trying to do this right, so if I’m going down the wrong road, I’d like to be corrected and adjust the way I do things sooner rather than later. Thanks for the help.

post-1269-137772153781_thumb.jpg

post-1269-137772153786_thumb.jpg

30 answers to this question

Hey Pete,