Sign in to follow this  
fireandrain

How would you guys hit this deck?

Question

The typical suspect for a N. California redwood deck here. No presence of failing finish. Curious how you guys would deal with it. I'd wet it down, soak it with efc-38, 20 min. dwell, and rinse @ 800 p.s.i. Soak it again with citralic, and rinse.

Any other approaches?

post-1749-137772180517_thumb.jpg

post-1749-137772180524_thumb.jpg

27 answers to this question

Shanes method will be good for restoring the deck,but mine will eliinat ethe need to restore forever.

The downside is you might be sought for arson charges afterwards..........lol

So you'd strip it rather than go with the precarb,eh? Makes sense, you think it would rinse off faster/cleaner? Im just new to caustics and feel a bit more secure working with the efc38 due to surrounding vegetaion... hmmm

Well you can pre wet the plants and also cover them with plastic for not long tho cuz they will burn.So pre wet post wet mailnly the blooming flowers cause hardy green plants shouldn't be a problem...just water ....water water...

EFC-38 is actually more of a stripper than a basic percarb. It will work well. As you get more experienced with wood, for efficiency purposes, downstreaming a stripper/cleaner like F-18 is much faster.

Quicker clean w/ f-18 over the efc38... Ive used the f18 before, stripping a nasty latex stain.. just nervous about using a caustic to clean.... guiess it would be faster though..

Its not about strength its about dilution. The same chemical (sodium hydroxide) in F-18 is in your toothpaste and dish liquid. Downstreaming dilutes at least 5:1 so what is coming out of the nozzle is marekdly reduced though, as with any chemical, you need to follow the precautions shane mentioned and keep everything wet down.

If you are worried about plants then use a shurflo to spray chems so your chems will be confined.The solution can be mixed weak so you won't hurt the plants as easy.