Sign in to follow this  
John Doherty

Bigger Isn't Better?

As our businesses grow most people want to go bigger, bigger trucks, higher GPM unit, larger trailer etc. I want to go smaller, and I'm looking for ideas. I'd love to have a self contained unit, by that I mean no trailer, just a truck. I want to put multiple units on the road, and keep costs down.

I had been thinking of Isuzu box trucks, but to get them and set them up the cost is almost $45k.

This is what I need to put on/in the 'platform'.

5 GPM hot water machine

30 to 100 gallon tank (I never have to tank up, water avail. at all jobs)

Nikro 55 gallon vac unit (this thing rocks, thanks Alan!!!!!)

Generator

3 reels, pressure, fill, discharge

This would be for new construction flatwork, which I've been doing for almost 3 years now, so I know this is exactly what I need.

Any suggestions on what to put this on/in would be appreciated, I'd love to just mount it all in a 1/2 ton p/u bed, but then I think it would all fit, but maint would be impossible as it would be too snug.

Thanks,

JD

Consider a Sprinter Van. 28k+

We have loaded it with a hydrotek 8gpm/3000psi 2 gun machine,

225 gallon tank, stack of 3 hose reels (1 fill, 2 pressure) and plenty of room for other items. Total load capacity is just under 2 tons. We are around 1000lbs without water in the tank (add 1800lbs when full).

In the setup you mentioned with a smaller tank, you may very well have enough room to do maintanance. It also depends on how you situate the equipment. Plus, in the winter, your equipment is protected.

I have a 1/3 ton ranger with a hydrotek hot water unit in it and the springs are maxed!

Just a side note for your consideration.

Anyone else?

Rod~

I should think that you could make a serviceable 'box' type truck on a 1/2 ton chassis if you removed the bed and built a flat bed/box.